Blog Debut

6 April, 2008 at 2:38 pm 4 comments

Having just completed an academic essay on social media, I could regurgitate the wonder of Web 2.0 and how it has turned users into producers; how social media use blurs the boundaries between media/audience and reception/production; how the new web allows for a reconstitution of… I’ve started to lose you already, right?

The purpose of this blog is to unpack social media for the average web user (that’s me included).  I’m an avid Facebook user and blog reader, but I haven’t given much thought to the medium, and if and how the incalculable hours I’ve spent online have changed anything about me.   

There’s so much that’s already been said about social media, but also quite a bit that hasn’t.  Through a blog series that begins next week, I’ll be looking at a range of social media forms – blogs, social networks, wikis and the rest – and reviewing some of them.  I’ll also consider social media’s general impact, its influence on users’ identity, its utility for businesses and traditional media, and its democratic potential.  All this, I promise, without causing you to keel over your keyboard from boredom.

As I’m proudly South African (except when the electricity cuts off), I’ll also be covering our flourishing social media scene and finding out what the “experts” have to say.

Now excuse me while I go change my Facebook status to, “Qudsiya is now a blogger!”

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

The underdogs of social networking

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kelescheppers  |  11 April, 2008 at 12:06 pm

    Great intro Qudsiya, can’t wait to see where you head from here! So who exactly are the “experts”? Is it the users, who are ‘experts’ at using the social media, or is it the developers of the social media forms?

  • 2. bloggingsocialmedia  |  11 April, 2008 at 12:17 pm

    thanks, kele 🙂 i meant experts in the sense of those who are respected and well known in the local social media/web 2.0 industry (like Gino Cosme and Vincent Maher, for example).

  • 3. voucher codes  |  9 May, 2013 at 3:00 am

    When I originally commented I seem to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now every
    time a comment is added I receive four emails with the same comment.
    Is there a means you can remove me from that service?

    Appreciate it!

  • 4. Madeline  |  25 January, 2014 at 10:08 pm

    “Blog Debut | Social Media” was in fact a good blog.
    If it owned more pics it might be perhaps
    even a lot better. Cya ,Odette

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to this blog

Previous Posts

Top Posts

Stumble Upon This!

Proudly SA Blogger

I shmaak SA Blogs, sorted with Amatomu.com

Flock Fan


Get Flocked

